Skip to content

More Answers

February 15, 2014

1) What is your opinion on using grease(particularly automotive stuff) to lube an AR15 in place of oil?

2) We’ve seen a lot of gun companies relocate businesses or refuse to sell to LEO and GOV organizations because of restrictions on civilian ownership. Do you think this is going to lead to a new trend in conservative politics, a kind of “sanctioning” against the statists?

3) Do you like the Tavor clones that are now available in the US?

4) Were you as disappointed as I was in the new Glock 41 and 42?

1) Honestly, I don’t have one. I just lube my shit with motor oil and call it good. Sorry.

2) I can hope, right? I don’t know that it will make much of a difference, since I have my doubts that the politicians who are so statist actually give two shits about the survivability of the cop or soldier on the ground, but any sort of sanctioning or shunning is a step in the right direction, in my opinion.

3)On the one hand, I’ve not even gotten my nasty little fingers on one of them yet. Unfortunately, none of the dealers or manufacturers out there—with a couple of notable exceptions (and I’m talking to you about that KeyMod fore end AmTac Precision…..) have contacted me about reviewing products yet, more is the pity. Deep in the stony, frozen recesses of my chest where my heart is supposed to reside, there is a little kid who is 110% as gear queer as a person can be.

On the other hand, I’m not particularly fond of bullpup designs. I like the compactness of bullpup designs, but the manual of arms completely fucks me up for some reason. I CAN run one, but I’d never choose to as my first, second, or even third choice, given my druthers.

4) I’ve not touched either one yet (see #3 above), but I was really, really hoping the 42 would be a single-stack 9mm. I’m not sure what customers Glock was listening to that demanded a .380, but considering the fact that it’s as large as a single-stack 9mm sub-sub-compact, I don’t see why they just didn’t make it a damned 9mm.

How many magazines are you comfortable carrying?

Depends on context. If I’m trying to be all sneaky-Pete the Ninja dude in an urban environment, I might just toss one extra mag in a pocket, but if I’m wearing patrolling gear? I carry 11 spare magazines. Eight on my RACK and three on my belt, along with three spare G17 magazines.

Then again, I usually keep twelve loaded magazines in my rucksack as well. So the answer COULD be 24…

Do you prefer single-open topped or double-flapped mag pouches for the bulk of your ammo load?

The pouches on my belt are HSGI kangaroo-type taco pouches, so they’re open-topped. Those are supposed to be strictly for those “Oh shit!” moments that demand a speed reload. The pouches on my RACK are double-stacked and flap-covered, for retention and protection, but are supposed to be used for tactical reloads/reloads with retention, when I’ve got the “time” of luxuriously taking 2-3 seconds for a reload instead of being involved in a drag race to get it done, or get shot in the face.

Where do you have your trauma kit or whatever? Chest or belt?

Gear layouts are a tough question for me to answer, because I’m always dicking with it. I’ve been running my IFAK/BOK on my belt for quite some time, but I’ve recently put it on my RACK, as I’ve moved away from using the war belt as much. Unfortunately, because of the layout of my RACK, that limits my left-hand access to the IFAK, so I ALSO carry one, wrapped in plastic, in a cargo pocket, when I’m wearing pants with cargo pockets. My tourniquets get carried on my RACK and on my plate carrier both.

I know (or think) you carry a fixed blade on your fighting load, do you also carry a Leatherman or Gerber in addition to that? Why or why not?

I actually carry two fixed blades. I’ve got a Kabar on my belt, and a smaller knife attached to my Safariland holster in front of my G17. I don’t currently carry a multi-tool, mostly because I haven’t been able to decide which one I want. I REALLY want the MUT from Leatherman, and HH6 has okayed the purchase, but I still can’t bring myself to drop $150 on a pair of damned pliers.

You said you had an Eberlestock pack somewhere on the blog—which one and why?

The biggest one they make. Why? Because it’s cool? I mean, everyone knows all the cool JSOC dudes are running them, right? No, seriously, I like the Eberlestock because a) it’s big enough, b) it’s not in some gayer than a bag of dicks backpacker color, and c) it’s made in the Redoubt.

Do you wear your RACK over a slick plate carrier? I know this was covered in the Load-Out articles, but I’m just wondering if anything has changed?

Yes, I do. I can ditch it if needed, to be all ninja-stealthy, and still have ballistic protection in case I screw up and am not as ninja-like as I want to think I am.

Do you use stand-alone or ICW plates and soft-armor backers? What brand is your armor?

I’m running TAP III+ stand-alones. So is HH6.

I was interested in learning more about your combatives and knife instruction. I understand that you are using an MMA type of program as the basics. Just curious if you are following the Ranger Combatives/MACP program completely or have added some of your own special sauce to it. Or am I misunderstanding? Also, I like your thinking for your knife program to just stick them but is that all there is because you are probably in a grappling type situation and so you are locked up and stick them? Do you ever foresee having to draw a knife pre-grappling stage? Would love any clarifications or further information regarding your combatives and knife program.

At a basic level, I teach—and practice—pretty much the MACP program, with a couple of variations.

1) My stand-up striking and entering game is almost straight Crazy Monkey Defense western boxing, from Rodney King in South Africa (Cecil Burch is a CMD coach, down in Arizona. I’m not sure who else is a legit coach of CMD, but I know Paul Sharp’s material is pretty similar).

2) My unarmed against weapons defenses are Red Zone Defense program, developed by Jerry Wetzl of Centerline Gym in California (Jerry is the lead CMD coach in the US also, AFAIK).

3) My stand-up clinchwork is a blend of judo, Greco-stuff I’ve learned over the years from different guys, and Paul Sharp’s stuff off the old ISR Matrix program (incidentally Paul…..any word on videos?). It’s about either knocking the dude out in the clinch, or setting up a throw or takedown.

4) “Put the pointy-end in the soft spots. Repeat as necessary, rapidly” really is the end-all, be-all of my philosophy of using any edged weapon like a knife. Even the ancient Romans knew and taught “Point beats edge.”

Could I cut my way out of a hold if necessary? Sure, but stabbing the dude is probably going to be a lot more effective. There has always been the myth in Asian martial arts—especially the Filipino martial arts—that guntings, or “defanging the snake” by slicing and dicing on the guy’s extended weapon-bearing arm would force him to drop his knife, leaving him exposed. But ask any ER doc or nurse and you’ll quickly discover…it’s just that…a myth. Fairbairn’s legendary Timetable of Death, recording how long it would take someone to bleed out is mythological in its conclusions. “If you slice someone’s brachial artery, they will lose consciousness in XX seconds, and die in XXX seconds.” That’s nonsense on the very face of it. Whose brachial artery? Mine? My two-year olds? A dude that weighs 290 pounds of fat and muscle? It doesn’t take variations in human physiology into account…let alone mental fortitude.

On the other hand, scrambling someone’s hash by slicing their heart apart, inside their chest? It’s a given THAT will stop their heart. Stab them in the lung and THEY will end up with air leaking out and fluid leaking in.

Is it going to stop them instantly? Not necessarily. That’s why the second sentence is there. “Repeat as necessary, rapidly.”

One thing that a lot of people overlook with using knives and other edged weapons, including guys who’ve adopted the “put the pointy-end in the soft spots” mantra, that helps explain my preference for grappling, is…depending on whom you’re fighting, there may not be a lot of soft spots available…If a dude is kitted up in the complete Interceptor Body Armor suite…you may be stabbing down into the neck, behind the neck guard, up into the groin, around the groin protector, or into the armpits. That’s pretty much all you’re going to get. Would you rather try and hit those tiny targets against a guy with full-mobility, or have him restricted in his movements, because you’ve got a hold of him and are putting him where you want him to go?

Do you continue to stay “informed” on current events, geopolitical situations and issues associated with your previous occupation? If so, what “open source” resources do you utilize specifically, and how do those resources scope and evolve your vision of assymmetrical warfare and how you think it should be applied at the small unit level? I’m also assuming that there are a few “closed source” resources that folks in your circle have access to…if you can’t comment about that, that’s fine.

Dude, everyone knows, the best source of news is Facebook!

Seriously though…

A SCIF is a Secure, Compartmented Information Facility. It’s where a unit’s intelligence information comes in. Here’s a not-so-secret secret I learned as a private (it may or may not still be true…): Every single SCIF in the United States government has at least one television in it, tuned to CNN.

Does the mass media suck? Of course. Does the media have a statist bias? Of course. Does Faux News suck as bad as everyone else? Of course.

Nevertheless, if you can use logic and deductive reasoning, and balance your news sources between US and foreign sources, you can generally get a pretty good idea of what is going on in the world. Equally important is the ability to tune out what the talking (air)head is saying, and LOOK at what’s going on in the background.

We don’t have cable or satellite at home. Our television is only used to watch movies (and most of those are children’s educational videos, and training videos, to be honest). Most of my news comes from international new sources, via their websites. A lot of times I WILL come across an interesting link on FB, and then follow it elsewhere. Sometimes, I find something on FB, fail to do due diligence, and someone later points out to be, it was false information.

As far as closed-source information? I watch the news.

My views on how SUT applies to asymmetrical warfare is constantly evolving. While those evolutions are based on my previous training and experience, and are filtered through that prism, my theories and thoughts on the subject do evolve, absolutely. Having that foundation in the doctrine though, gives me a place to fall back to, if I discover down the road that my theories were theoretically full-of-shit.

Any chance you an do a junk on the bunk picture to see how your fighting gear and sustainment gear are set up?

Wait! You want to see my junk? That’s a little too DADT for me…..

Seriously, though, we’re going to try and get some photos shot during the upcoming Arizona class. I’ll try and remember to get some of my gear layout.

1) Do you know/recommend anyone within the Texas/Oklahoma region that offers similar knowledge?

I did a class in Oklahoma last year or the year before. I don’t really know anyone in those states though. Paul Howe does a lot of stuff at his place CSAT in Nacogdoches, but it’s mostly geared toward LEO, as far as I know.

2)Another option is to self-train skills that can be self-taught. Would you be willing to write a blog post outlining a list of essential skills useful for light infantry and possible ways to learn/practice those skills? For example, in Contact! Max Velocity mentioned orienteering clubs as a way to hone navigations skills. That’s just one example.

Sure. We talk about this a lot.

Orienteering is a great way to learn land nav with map and compass. If you want to do the GPS thing, try geocaching. If you want to learn to run a gun fast and accurate and get lots of practice (albeit without tactics involved really), get into 3-gun or IDPA or IPSC. If you want to learn how to live out of a ruck, go backpacking.

If you want to learn some more primitive bushcraft type survival skills, watch some YouTube videos, and then go practice, or go to Rabbitstick. The ability to self-train is unlimited in any skill set beyond those that necessarily require other people. It’s impossible to train in combatives by yourself. Sure, you can do bag work and shit, or (please don’t) martial arts kata, but unless you’re practicing shit against an actual, resisting opponent, you’re not really training.

You can’t practice SUT by yourself, obviously.

DOL,

John Mosby

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Goo permalink

    thanks for doing Q&A, I look forward to pics coming to the blog. Just a quick fyi, Eberlestock is headquartered in Boise, but their packs are manufactured in Vietnam.

  2. Koldsteel permalink

    Good Stuff… Keep it coming sir !!!

  3. Wes permalink

    Hey on the texas/oklahoma training question, I just recently found (and I’m excited as shit to see what they end up offering) a new company close to me that offers a variety of training, from weapons to bushcraft. It’s called Freedom Company Defense and Preparedeness Traing. It says their instructors are from military and Leo backgrounds. I’d love to go take a class with JM but the amount of money it would take to even go to one of his mobile classes would really be more than I can afford.

  4. NORTHMAN permalink

    Thank you again for the Q&A.I know you’ve written about PT before,would you consider please doing an entire post on it?Hunting,rifle,caliber and scope,what do you use for elk and mule deer?With all the snow and cold weather we’re getting,what gear do you use?Thank you.

  5. Steve Bland permalink

    First the request you not laugh, to long anyway. Now the honest question: are there ANY videos that can show the basics of SUT to a total newbie? Yeah, you snickered!

Leave a Reply

