Skip to content

New Directions

June 21, 2016

Since the beginning of this blog, some five or six years ago now, at the old blogspot site, I’ve endeavored to offer valid, valuable information on preparedness TTP, predicated on my past professional experience in the USASOC community, as filtered through my educational background in post-graduate history and daily life. I’ve offered—literally—thousands (and probably tens of thousands) of pages of information in what I’ve hoped was an approachable, vernacular style that is actually pretty much exactly like having a conversation with me (as readers who have been in classes will gleefully tell you, I really do manage to do what grade school teachers tell us to do in composition classes—I write exactly how I speak, for better or worse).

Since the beginning of this year, I’ve posted a mere 16 posts on this site, and only seven or eight of them were actually content articles, rather than announcements of classes or reviews from others of either classes or the books. For those readers that remember the old site, that is a very, very different rate than in the beginning, when I was posting an article pretty much every…single…day…and those were almost invariably anywhere from 15-30 pages long.

Some of the difference is a result of changes in my day job working schedules. Having a job that allows me to take random amounts of time off to travel and teach classes means I have to make up that time when I am at home. That severely cuts into my ability to create opportunities to write articles for the blog, without cutting into quality time with my wife and daughters, and our attempts to build our homestead…and I will happily tell you to go fuck yourself if you think I’m going to exchange time with my family for time writing articles for the blog, to be read by people that I mostly don’t know.

My wife and I—and some of our local kith-and-kin group—were discussing this recently, and believe we’ve come to a potential solution that will benefit those readers that want “more” and my own clan. What is needed is a way to make taking that time away from other activities worth the investment in doing so. Writing the blog after all, has always been a labor of community for me. It was a way to share the knowledge I gained in the military with a larger “community” of people with at least some shared values, customs, and traditions. I’ve never charged for content on this blog, and I’ve never asked for donations. I’m not going to start now, in either case (not that I’m going to send your cash or unaddressed money order back either, if you decide to make a donation though….).

One of the things I’ve long stressed to students in classes is that, ultimately, I’m creating speed bumps for the bad guys. If students—and readers—actually practice the stuff we teach, they will hopefully, become roadblocks, rather than speed bumps; they will STOP bad people before they reach my people, rather than simply slowing them down and tearing off pieces. Unfortunately, I can’t really afford, considering my obligations and responsibilities to my own clan, to write an article a day, or even an article a week, sans compensation.

What I am going to do is two-fold. First of all, I’m going to recommit—with HH6’s blessing—to publishing a minimum of one new article per week on this blog, at the same, traditional price of zero dollars, for all readers. They probably won’t be the lengthy treatises I’ve done in the past, but instead, shorter, more succinct pieces on various subjects ranging from individual hard skills like shooting, PT, combatives, and tactics, to “soft” skills like auxiliary taskings, ranging from PSYOP and intelligence to resource management to maintain logistics within the community.

In addition to that however, I’m going to do a couple of things differently.

First of all, I’m going to commit to producing a short e-booklet publication every month. Not The Reluctant Partisan volumes, or even Forging the Hero, but small, 25-100 page booklets on subjects relevant to the discussion topics here. One month it might be a complete training program for Combat Rifle training. The next, it might be a discussion on Guerrilla Farming in urban and suburban environments. It will always be relevant, and it will always follow the same pattern of my other work in the information-intensive format I write in. In other words, I’m still not interested in writing fluff pieces. I want readers to have useful, useable information in their hands that they can put to use right now.

Those are going to be available in one of two ways. In the first case, it will be a pay-for-download that you can buy, for a reasonable fee. Alternatively, they will be available as a subscription, slightly discounted rate, but with the subscription, I will provide an additional weekly “article” in the form of a weekly training drill you can incorporate into your training programs and plans.

One of the potential drawbacks to this in recent conversations with folks has been, “Can you produce enough content to satisfy what you’re saying you can do?” The short answer is, “yes.” The fact is, each of the staff functions alone is deep enough to provide well over a year’s worth of practical training articles in itself, and that’s not even getting into more mundane training articles like the shot-calling article I posted yesterday.

Those readers who have been around will probably remember that at the beginning of the blog, at the old blogspot site, I literally wrote a book a week worth of fresh material, all based in doctrine, but with practical, relevant, original twists to that doctrine, in order to make it relevant and practicable.

I’ll be talking with a couple of people in the training industry and the blogosphere about these options and making them work, over the coming days, with a decision on whether this is viable or not, in the next week or so.

This allows me to continue providing what has been widely credited as valuable information for training and preparedness for the readership community, while also benefiting my own people through not robbing them of my time without adequate recompense that can be leveraged towards our needs. My goal is not to create a Mountain Guerrilla business empire. My goal is to be able to afford to continue providing valid, valuable information and training to students who often become friends.

(And yes, we’re going to do some t-shirts and fucking morale patches, finally….eventually….)

(Edited to add: Alternatively, I may alternate each month or week, between the training drills and a subscription podcast, including answering reader/listener questions?)

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

From → Uncategorized

73 Comments
  1. Russell permalink

    If you can balance the building of your own private island and blog content, I say go for it.

  2. Paleface Jase permalink

    I have but one comment.

    HURRY UP.

  3. blake g permalink

    Roger that – tracking…

  4. Wgiskey permalink

    Sounds like it will definitely be worth the price. Glad you found a way to balance this out with your other duties.

  5. stuclark24657 permalink

    I’ll gladly subscribe for the opportunity to get stuff on a regular basis from you.

    Great idea!!!

    Stuart

    Date: Tue, 21 Jun 2016 21:31:10 +0000 To: stuclark@hotmail.com

  6. sbouchardaz permalink

    Hey, I may have only been reading your blog for a little over a year ( and its by far one of the best out there in regards to tactics, critical thinking and building tribes) but in the end, this is your blog. As you’ve stated in the past, you for tired of listening to all the other ” tactical trainers” bullshit and decided to write and teach your own practical tactical guidelines. Write as much or as little as you want, if people can’t go more than a week without your guidance given in your blogs then something is seriously wrong with them and probably wouldn’t survive a shtf scenario let alone a dead cell phone.

    Regardless on what you decide I’m still be a reader and no matter how I would have to pay, if funds peemit, I’ll buy a booklet.

  7. I will subscribe as soon as it becomes available. I find the information pretty valuable and it is worth the expense.

  8. Engineer permalink

    I’ve bought the books in the past and was happy with your no bullshit approach. As long as you can keep it within reach of a poor college student(1 year left) Ill will be subscribing! Hope to make it too a class when i can get out and on my feet also.

    Thanks.

  9. Can’t add anything to what’s been said already; sounds like a darn good plan. Looking forward to it, and regards, from northern Vermont.

  10. redleg1013 permalink

    Send it!

  11. Have you considered getting some advertisers that correspond to your content?

    • anon permalink

      Advertisers result in data mining and poor opsec, not a good idea.

  12. Charlie permalink

    Any information gleaned is better than nothing. You’ve shown that you know what you’re talking about and that has value. I look forward to subscribing.

  13. Well, what you write has given me no small amount of things to ponder. I would be interested in the booklets as they sound like skill sets we will all need so to one degree or another.

    Keep your powder dry, your family close, and keep up the fight.

  14. Anonymous permalink

    I was sitting here reading Forging the Hero at the moment this post came up on FB. I’ll definitely be subscribing.

    Looking forward to the new content.

  15. William GIbbons permalink

    Sounds like a plan, I’ll subscribe and encourage to as well. As for the gear, count me in!

  16. RangerRick permalink

    Brother,
    I understand the issues as I do the same here in North Idaho. Family always comes first. I will keep in and yours in my thoughts and prayers. Stay safe. If the bad guys come from the PNW , you will be safe, we will stop them here.
    Your brother and friend,
    RangerRick
    North Idaho

  17. John permalink

    Sir,
    I will gladly subscribe to relevant and timely information that I can use to further educate myself.

  18. Troy Ashcraft permalink

    Family first, all else is forgiven. You’ve given so much to chew on anyway, it’s not as if I have gotten everything out of the books and other articles and they’re no use to me anymore…

  19. Justin permalink

    Count me in just let us know where to sign up

  20. Matt permalink

    That sounds like an outstanding idea. Anyone with any sense will realize the quality & worth of your work and should be willing to help. I’m in on what ever route you decide to go.

    Matt

  21. Jason permalink

    Count me in too. I find your knowledge priceless and just as important as any other piece of gear I have invested $ and training in. Looking forward to it!

  22. cavguy permalink

    WILCO

  23. John K permalink

    My opinion isn’t worth much, but I’d definitely be up for a paid subscription for a monthly mini-e-book/training drills/podcast. And morale patches. I appreciate the information you’ve shared freely.

  24. Mervo permalink

    If it works for you and your family it’s all good by me.

    Thank you for all your time and info you’ve provided thus far, always forward.
    -Mervo

  25. Abe permalink

    Sounds like a good plan, especially the booklets. Anything about the Auxiliary-functions, command committee, etc would be great

  26. How soon before subscriber details are available?

  27. Bryan B permalink

    Sounds like a great Idea, John.

  28. Traveler permalink

    Do it, you glorious bastard. I’ll subscribe.

  29. I have no idea why you would give it away for free; so yeah, I’m down…

  30. wunhunglo2 permalink

    Do what you gotta do. I’m a Capitalist and willing to pay for info. It’s only fair.

  31. Raider8313 permalink

    JM you tell us where to sign up for a subscription and I am all game. I can attest to all that you right as a former Marine Raider (0372). I still learn from you and I feel I have a good baseline to work with. I will gladly contribute or subscribe for you content. Nice work on your books by the way.

  32. Azbc permalink

    Always look forward to your posts. Does not matter too much regarding span (e.g. a week or month), although when a month goes by, kind of like “… is John and family okay?” Blog posts lets us know you are good. The blog posts are of quality content, consistent, worth a read, and worth extended self thought and / or practice.

    Not the type to pay for subscriptions, buy patches, or ts, but bought your books and training… Which are worth the “time” at least once. And of course like your free chicken (your knowledge and experiences), appreciate your humor, and respect your resolve to help out.

    F being content to do nothing and / or be ignorant.

  33. I’ve bought and profited from all 3 books and also all the knowledge on the blog for the past few years. I’m happy to exchange value for value, though it still feels like I’m getting the better end of the deal.

  34. Tripp permalink

    JM, as a avid follower and reader of you, FO and the MG blog as well as always a before available purchaser of all 3 volumes…I support and respect the decision. Your selfless nature is one to be modeled and your intellect on the topics you write about/teach is Top 1%, so you plans makes perfect sense. I for one will continue to consume (and practice) as much as you dole out regardless of medium or cost (as it will always be nominal relative to the value)…Stay Frosty..

  35. CaptainAttila permalink

    Why do I have the feeling that I’ll have to wait for an email to find out where to download each one?😉

  36. Ferrell permalink

    Roger that. Seems like a workable solution, and if not make small correction along the way.

  37. Mike permalink

    Sounds good John. Keep me informed

  38. Sounds good

  39. I have always enjoyed your material and writing style and will gladly subscribe when it becomes available. Please send time with your family. THEY COME FIRST.

  40. bradybunch permalink

    On board, and standing by

  41. juice permalink

    I’d gladly pay for your content, I’ve learned a lot from your writings, can’t wait to see more.

  42. KAPG Mike permalink

    I’m in. Other than the three great books, I’ve been sponging off you long enough. I’ll take a year subscription to Mountain Guerrilla University please.
    I would also love a side order of a SUP class as well if it can be squeezed in somewhere.
    I want to contribilute!
    Thanks to the ladies and to you for your efforts!

  43. John,
    I have always enjoyed your writing’s and go to your posts first when I open my email account for the day. With that written, will you be biting off a bit more than you can chew?

    Anyhow you know your situation better than I do. I will be happy to subscribe to your monthly booklet.

  44. dennismorel permalink

    I like the solution you have come up with and given your previous content, count me in.

  45. I’ve spent a bunch of money with people like Paul, Larry, Cecil, and Craig. As far as I’m concerned you’re at that elite level and I’ll gladly pay for the content.

  46. Awesomeness permalink

    Have you considered a Patreon account? It might be a little too high profile of a paper trail for you, but it lets people pledge donations per post (e.g. $1/post). Seems fair to everyone… you only get paid for posting (and you can set some to free posts, such as for class updates), and it only charges us a trivial amount that we won’t even miss.

  47. Scott freah permalink

    What ever you can pass on would be great, clan and tribe come first. I took a class from you last year at Todds and got a lot out of it. You are a high intensity muldune. Put out what info you can and my clan and tribe will soak it up. 7th light.

  48. MNisic permalink

    Questions:

    1-Will there be a library for back access? Ex., I sign up 6 months from you implementing this, do I only get material moving forward, or can I get the last half year as well?

    2 – You often say that almost all your articles have been covered in-depth in your books. Is this meant to be a more affordable alternative to your books then, or is there good stuff outside them that you’ll be sharing?

    3 – I thought everyone wrote how they speak except when explicitly trying not to?

    Also, should have seen the speed bump angle…p

    • 1) I don’t know yet. Still ironing out the details.
      2) We’ve got 20K years of hominid experience on this planet. The vast majority of that has involved what we now classify as “irregular” warfare. Between tribal issues and security issues, three volumes doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of the small slice of that I’ve spent the last two-plus decades learning.
      3) In my experience, most people, even subconsciously, edit their internal voice when they’re putting words on paper.

      4) Yeah, I’m sort of a callous fucker that way.

  49. Mike Lewis permalink

    John, I have never met you in person but I have a great respect for what you have done for our country and really appreciate the knowledge you have put forth in your blog and books. When you decide what the subscription rate will be, let me know; I’m in 100%. Respectfully, Mike Lewis

    Date: Tue, 21 Jun 2016 21:31:17 +0000 To: mikel948@hotmail.com

  50. Stealth Spaniel permalink

    Your first obligation is to your family. Screw anyone who tells you any differently. In this Byzantine Labyrinth of a Central Government that we are surrounded by, I do appreciate you taking the time to share your incredible knowledge.

  51. Shipofools permalink

    Excited to see this direction. I have always enjoyed your content and look forward to support its creation in the future. How will this work/compliment/supplement FO subscriptions?

  52. Hooyah

    -Bruce Willis

  53. Jim Scrummy permalink

    Excellent! I am also enjoying reading “Forging The Hero”. Great material that is forcing me to think a bit deeper about my Kin and Kith, in a good way. Thank you for that excellent work!

  54. OK, well I would be very interested in subscribing because your previous work (blog posts) have been well-written and provide good info. I appreciate what you do for the general public, but I am not going to just be a “Yes Man” and tell you how great you are and that you are the best, etc. I think the RP books are good, but I do have some constructive concerns about the general idea, and the formatting of some of your stuff:
    1. Yes, I would pay a subscription fee to get the work you will be putting out. You’d most likely be putting put the best quality of the stuff I pay to read.
    2. Some folks who do this model put out less quantity / frequency of publishing than they had promised. So, I suggest being realistic about the plans you announce so subscribers do not feel betrayed and fail to re-subscribe. Your word is your bond, and all of that. When the promises go unfulfilled, the reader starts wondering what else is perhaps lacking about the quality of info being published.
    3. When you are writing free stuff, you have no obligation to us, the readers. When you sell a subscription, you are entering into a commercial transaction and your future success depends on the reputation you make for yourself with your readers, and that in turn depends on the quality, as well as quantity/frequency of publishing. See point 2, above. Your past quality is real good; the material has depth and lots of useful info. That’s why people want to subscribe and pay for your content. If the quality gets thin, the subscribers don’t keep coming back.
    4. Some folks who do this kind of thing turn everything they write into a big advertisement gimmick along the lines of, “but wait…there’s more…just buy this book series and you will learn the secret that Wall Street pros don’t want you to know…etc” Please don’t descend into that kind of crap.
    5. I have the paper copies of your RP books and enjoyed reading them, but there are some formatting and proof-reading errors that can hopefully be avoided in the monthly booklets.
    6. Along those lines, downloadable pdf’s probably work for 99% of people. What I ask, no, what I beg, is that you do not “lock” them because then we can not print them to read later and we can not convert them to WORD or to a Kindle book format to make them easier to read. Yes, pdf’s can be sent to Kindle, but the text comes out micro-tiny-small, like the list of benefits of communism, really tiny. If the pdf’s are unlocked, the reader can manipulate the formatting any way that works for them to be able to read them.

  55. Comrade X permalink

    I’m in.

  56. Shawn H permalink

    Will gladly subscribe

  57. 15Fixer permalink

    I like it. I’m in. Best to the family.

  58. Andy permalink

    You always reference the articles from the old site. Is there anywhere to access those older articles?

    • The vast majority were posted here as well. The ones that weren’t were generally minor stuff, or stuff that I’ve re-written.
      I honestly don’t know if I still have copies of those articles saved somewhere.

    • MNisic permalink

      There’s a NousDefions epub floating around somewhere, not sure how complete it is, but seems all there. Google search should turn it up.

  59. GoodComDeadCom permalink

    Greetings, and God bless.

    Works for me. The workman is indeed worthy of his hire…

  60. James permalink

    Mr. Mosby, have you considered starting up a YouTube channel or a podcast?

  61. Considering the extensive work you put in for these articles…I’m fucking amazed that I can still read this for free. So, ya, I’d pay to read your blog. It’s worth it for the legit content you put forward.

    On an unrelated note for a future article: I’d be interested in your daily workout routine/meal plan…to see what I can incorporate into my daily/weekly/monthly plan. I think I have a well defined plan already in place- but I am always looking for new stuff to incorporate in.

  62. nbcode permalink

    You may have addressed this somewhere else… What about the idea of going totally public, with a YouTube channel, with Viking tactical, Patmac, etc???? In the early days you mentioned both. And getting sponsorship from companies willing to pay, so you can make a living, doing training AND normalizing basic life skills? With a wife + children -girls. I get it, but…

    As a former ‘student’ five+ years ago, what I learned was A LOT. I’m grateful. You have a gift, you might like writing, but up close and personal is better.

    Come out of the closet so to say, I understand money is an issue, as it is for everyone else….

  63. emdfl permalink

    Do the books have to be ordered through FO or can they still be ordered from you directly? Subscription newsletter sounds like a good idea, but I would suggest that you get a rough idea as to how many would subscribe at what price before you go full bore into it.

  64. don simmons permalink

    Depending on the “subscription price” or ebook price – ~= $2.00 month or so == I am in. Let me know where / what level you head towards.

  65. Blue10 permalink

    Whether sold a la carte or on a subscription basis, I believe it is quite plausible. In the end, the best way to find out is to run it, measure it, adjust where needed, tune it to peak performance, and repeat until it either works or is proven that it can’t work.

  66. Sid Vail permalink

    Just found (or rather, possibly RE-found), your blog on Steve Quayle’s site! I’d lost your old blog addy…

    Great stuff!

    Have had the privilege of training under, & therefore, “hanging out with”, several “active’ and “Ret.” vets, of several of our USSOC “operators” — (funny…they never told me their “group”/”TEAM”; just their Branch…but, others “in the know” were good enough to clue me in on WHY they were sooooo proficient & knowledgeable).

    I have to say, it was educational from several angles…They were, MOSTLY, less gregarious, boisterous, or “chatty” than I’d have expected, (T.V. / Movie stereotypes?)…MUCH MORE “tuned in” than I’d ever seen an instructor, and yet, REALLY humbly, down-to-earth & practiced K.I.S.S. to the extreme…they treated us respectfully, (even when we did stupid), but seriously.

    I recognize this same attitude, mentality, & spirit, in your Article & analysis on the Dallas events. It’s truly refreshing to hear a frank but knowledgeable A.A.R. from one who’s BTDT.

    Your above commitment is genuinely inspirational too…(I spent 40+ Yrs. as a FIELD Missionary), {emphasis on FIELD — 12 yrs. out of Country, the rest here, working with teens & young adults, training them to go to “foreign fields” & be effective & “worth their salt” — instead of “righteous”, “holy”, aloof, or incapable of assimilating to the culture}…So seeing you place 1st priorities first is refreshing…FAMILY #1, & CLAN, #2! Good for you!

    (I, btw, AGREE with you’re ENTIRE “TAKE” on Dallas). I also look forward to more of your insights, or training counsel! Thanks for sharing & the effort of doing so!

  67. I applaud you for putting your family first. In today’s upside down working world, all too often, family takes a back seat to career, ambition, company travel, etc. It wasn’t always this way.

    A few years back, my direct supervisor was a 30’s something, Type-A personality type. Spending 120 hour weeks was considered “normal” by him. One day his wife chewed him out in the parking lot because he was going to miss his (only) daughter’s soccer game that day.

    As were were going though security going back in, I hit him with: “…remember, she is only nine once!” That stopped him dead in his tracks. Did it help? I never knew. He was an asshole to work with on a good day, and I took a promotion to get out of his presence.

    Family first, and always…

Leave a Reply

